Pimero questionsCategory: Security & backupServer-Administrator

Administration Server

The Pimero Server Administrator is used to manage your Pimero Server. The first time you start the Server Administrator, you will be asked to enter your administrator password for the Pimero network. You assigned this password during the installation of the Pimero Server.

The Server Administrator is divided into seven parts:

The Pimero Server is a Windows service. In the upper part of the tab “Information” you can see information about the Pimero Server service:

  • whether the service is installed
  • Whether the service is started
  • the working directory of the service

Info
In the lower part of the tab “Information” you have an overview of your licenses.

The server administrator tries to read in an existing license key. If you have only installed the Pimero Server and no Pimero Client on your PC, you must enter your license key here. Click on “Insert license key” and copy & paste your key into the text box. Confirm with “Ok”.

If you have installed a Pimero Client on your PC in addition to the Pimero Server, the license key will normally be read correctly by the Server Administrator. You do not need to enter it again at this point.

Nevertheless, it may happen that the license key cannot be read correctly in an installed Pimero Client, for example if you do not have sufficient rights to read the directory in question. Then you have to enter the license key again.
Important: In order for the license key to be recognized correctly, you must restart the Pimero Server.

Click on “Stop service”, wait until the service is stopped and then click on “Start service”.

In the tab “Synchronization” you get an overview of synchronization processes in your Pimero network. If a Pimero client synchronizes itself with the Pimero server, a so-called partnership is created. This partnership symbolizes a connection between server and client.
sync

For each partnership, you will see the name and date of the last synchronization. The name of a partnership consists of the computer name and the corresponding user account. The number of possible partnerships depends on the number of your licenses.

Pimero licenses are linked to Pimero users and installations. For each license you purchase, you can create one Pimero user and perform two installations, one on your PC and one on your laptop. In the overview, you will then see a partnership for each installation.

If you want to install Pimero a third time, for example, because you have a new laptop and no longer use the old one, you can delete the old partnership you no longer need. You can then install Pimero on your new laptop and synchronize as usual.

If you still want to use your old laptop, you will need to purchase another license.

Important: Each Pimero installation is unique. If you install Pimero multiple times on your PC, a new partnership will be created each time. If you exceed the number of licenses by installing more than one Pimero installation, you can delete an old partnership that you no longer need. Synchronization is then no longer possible with this installation. You can recognize an old and possibly no longer needed partnership by the date of the last synchronization.

In the tab “Server Settings” you can configure the backup functions for the Pimero Server database. If you do not want backups, uncheck the box “Write periodic backups”.

By default, however, regular backups are created.
serversettings

If you want to create the backups, you can specify the location for the backups under “Destination folder”.

This makes sense, for example, if you have an extra drive for your backups.

The “Backup Interval” specifies the time in minutes that the backup will be backed up.

To save disk space, Pimero periodically overwrites old backups. The value of “Backup generation” indicates the total number of backups on your hard disk. When this number is reached, the oldest backup will be overwritten with new data.

Example: You have set the value to 50, the backup interval is 120. After installation, Pimero starts creating a new backup every two hours and storing it on your hard disk until you reach backup number 50.

If you have arrived at backup number 51, Pimero does not create a new backup, but overwrites the oldest backup with the current data.

With the button “Change admin password” you can change the admin password.

With the button “Show network password” the admin password is displayed encrypted. This password is used to pass it on to clients who should not be allowed to administer your Pimer network.

With the button “Add Firewall Exceptions” the ports used by the PimeroServer are activated in the firewall, so that other computers in the network can connect to your server.

With the button “Add port forwarding” the corresponding ports in your router are set up for forwarding to the PimeroServer. This will ensure that the PimeroServer is also accessible from the Internet and not only from your network.

In the tab “Protocol” you can see which content changes have been made to the server database. These changes were transferred from the Pimero clients to the server by synchronization. They are grouped by days in the lists. The entry can be identified by the column “Subject”. The “Action” column indicates the type of customization.
Protokoll
The columns “Sync Source” and “Entry ID” are technical data for the respective entry. They serve as information for the technical support in case of problems.
The “Log synchronization” checkbox can be used to deactivate the logging function on the server. The function is only suspended until it is activated again. With the button “Delete log” you can empty the log to free the space in the database again.
In the tab “Restore backup” you can restore the backups made by Pimero.
More information about restoring backups.
Backup

In the tab “Import database” you have the possibility to manually extend an existing server database with data from other databases. This can be important if there are Pimero clients or standalone installations where important data has been entered but not synchronized to the server.
The import function can also be used to convert a single-user installation into a network version or to merge data from multiple Pimero networks/installations.
If you have not yet set up a server or if the existing network installation shows errors, a new server must first be configured. If your existing network installation is running smoothly, you can skip this step and continue directly with the import.
Import

Under point 1. you can check the path to the current server database and its status.

Under point 2. select a database file whose content is to be imported. The database files are called “PIMUSERxxx” on the client and “PIMEROSERVER” on the server. From version 2009 R4 (4.4) you have the file extension “.fdb”. You can find out where these files are stored in the chapter Storage Location.

The import process can be started under point 3. After the import, the synchronization process of the connected clients may take longer than usual. Please wait for the process and do not interrupt Pimero.

In the tab “Delete Undo” you can restore deleted data. The core information can be restored, but you have to assign folders manually.
First select the type of data to be recovered and a time period when this entry was deleted. In the list below, select the entries you want to restore.
Then select an order to which the selected entries are to be assigned and press the “Restore now” button.
Löschen Rückgängig

Your Answer